Thanks for the quick response to my first posting. We really love the game, and overall have few issues with the mechanics or cards. However, now that we have played a few more times, we have found the wording of some cards and rules a bit open to interpretation. Below are a number of questions we would like clarified. Thanks!
Confrontation: Is a ‘confrontation’ any combat, or only with another party?
You: The word ‘you’ seems to imply the player, making some effects universal. Is this the intent? (See Romance.)
Final Mission Cards
Destroy Omega: Assume one player has defeated Omega, but then loses to The Lord of Infinity. When that player or any other tries to complete the mission next, will they start by facing Omega again, or do they immediately challenge The Lord of Infinity?
Destroy the Soul of Infinity: Per previous clarifications, if one player has completed the Speed Check and now holds the mission card, and either another player or an encounter defeats that player in combat, the mission card is returned to the Tower at the End, correct?
Basic Mission Cards
All: If the party fails to meet the first condition on a mission card, the party must return to the Area again, resolve any encounters, and get the reward again in order to make a second attempt, correct?
All: When can the party attempt to complete the mission requirements? For example, on Protect the Village of Cornes, does the party immediately encounter the Pillagers on the turn it gets the reward, or does it start on the next turn?
Defeat Malekith: Assume the player has defeated Avatar, but then loses to The Prince. When that player tries to complete the mission next, will he start by facing Avatar again, or does he immediately challenge The Prince?
Shadow Laboratory: If the party fails to pass the Speed check, but defeats the Guardian, have they completed the mission? Also, if the Guardian defeats the party, do they start again next time with another Speed check, or do they immediately encounter the Guardian again?
Wizard Mentalist: How long is the duration of the effect if she is spun? For example, the Dark Paladin faces a Being of Light during a preliminary encounter, and the Mentalist spins to neutralize his ability. In the same turn, during the Encounter phase, the Paladin faces another Creature of Light. Is the Mentalist ability still in effect, or does it expire immediately when used the first time?
Illusionist: Per previous clarifications, after a successful escape from combat, the party with the Illusionist can proceed to the next step of the encounter, whether moving into the area or selecting a reward. Correct?
Technician, Wizard: Since the card says when “you” use a ____ card, can the Technician’s (Wizard's) ability be used for Ki (Magic) cards used by any character in the player’s party, or only for cards used by the Technician (Wizard) [similar to Tao]?
Americh, The Great University, Temple of Gaira: For Theft, Scholar, and Misfortune, since the effect does not specify your turn ends immediately, can the party still obtain a reward following these results?
Holocaust: There is no limit to the number of level 1 or 2 Areas that can be discarded at the time this card is played, correct?
Wrong Way: This card does not bypass a Preliminary Encounter, correct?
Leading Role: Per previous clarifications, this card remains in play, correct?
Dragon Claws (for example): If played during a Preliminary Encounter, does the effect expire when the encounter is over, or does it last the entire turn, carrying forward to any combat in the Encounter phase?
Immolate, Summon, Invocation, Body Multiplication, A stroke of luck: Must these cards be used by the character casting them? For example, if a party faces the Shogun, can the Warrior cast Summon and add the effect to the Weaponmaster’s combat value?
Romance: Since the card says “you receive +2 combat”, must this card’s effect be used by the romantic characters? For example, if a party faces the Shogun, would the combat modifier apply to the Weaponmaster if he is facing the Shogun even if he is not one of the romantic characters?
Miraculous Escape: Since this says ignore “any effect that would impede your taking action this turn”, does the card stay in effect until the next Reset phase? If so, can you ignore multiple lost combat encounters or other events during the turn?
Detect Ki, Countertechnique: Do these effects linger for an entire turn, or expire immediately after the first effect? (As compared to ‘Shield of Protection’ which specifies it affects only a single card.)
If a party has entered an area but bypassed the Preliminary Encounter (e.g. Zeppelin Voyage or Illusionist escape ability) and chooses to remain in the area, they must now encounter the Preliminary Encounter, correct?
During Reset, a party may remain in the same area as last turn, unless it chooses to Rest, correct?
Sequence of Actions
If multiple players wish to take actions or play cards simultaneously (during a party-to-party combat, for example), who acts first? Is it determined by Speed?