I like that interpretation better as well, but according to the rules, Ki Control "This ability allows total control of inner energy. A character with this ability is fully aware of his supernatural powers and can Accumulate Ki. Once aquired, Ki Control allows characters to learn Dominion Techniques." Really this is why the entire question came up. It states right out that Ki Control is needed to Accumulate Ki. Use of Ki only sais, "It allows a character to awaken his inner energy and use it subconsciously." Accumulation is concentrating and building up your internal energy to release in a big way, without being able to use it consciously you would not be able to do that.
The only reason I argue that you can use one turn of "Accumulation" is because otherwise, according to the above, you could not use any Ki Abilities without Ki Control, which I do not believe was the intention. It is a plausible, if somewhat flimsy, explanation which can be argued logically.
If you can accumulate Ki without Ki Control why is the ability to Accumulate Ki specifically part of the ability? If you do not gain one round of accumulation without the ability to Accumulat, which is granted through Ki Control, how do you use any Abilities that require Ki without it? Unless both of these questions can be answered I am going with my explanation as per how it officially works.
As far as I am concerned, within my games, Use of Ki will allow you to accumulate Ki for Abilities, and Ki Control just allows learning techniques and abilities with it as a prerequisite. However, after this discussion, I believe that will have to be considered a HOUSERULE. But with this game, you basically need an entire book of those.